Where is ‘safe’?

Where are you guys? At home or outside?

We are at a friend’s home, waiting to get back to our base home, I tell the husband who started work for the next five days.

Don’t leave now. Wait. There was a shooting in Utrecht. Take care ok?

I keep the phone and realise that it’s not too far from here, under 15minutes to the place where the shooting happened.

What did Appa say, asks Aryav and I don’t know what to tell him?

What do I tell him that someone is shooting at people?

What do I tell him that I don’t feel safe anymore anywhere?

What do I tell him that I have absolutely no clue how safe this world will be when he starts to go out on his own?

Where is safe?

As a mother of a four year old, I won’t lie when I say that I am scared today. Scared of what humans are turning into, and the lengths they can go to. I can never get into the debate of religion or faith, because for me, I think we are just failing day by day as just humans.

Leave a comment